Skip Navigation

Soil Surveys


Modern soil surveys are available in 51 of the 67 counties in Alabama.

Sixteen counties have out-of-date or out-of-print surveys. Maintenance and update project for the Redlands geographic area began in 2003. Major Land Resources Area Soil Survey Offices are located in Auburn, Loxley, and Normal, Alabama.

Historical replica CDs are available for sixteen counties with an out-of-print soil survey publication (Baldwin, Calhoun, Chambers, Cleburne, Cullman, Elmore, Limestone, Jackson, DeKalb, Dale, Fayette, Franklin, Lawrence, Montgomery, Morgan, and Madison Counties).

All sixty-seven Alabama soil surveys are SSURGO certified, meeting all standards and specifications described in the NRCS National Soil Survey Handbook. These are available in digital format and can be found on the NRCS Web Soil Survey website.

Alabama cooperators: The Alabama Legislature continues to share the cost of the soil survey program by providing funds through the Alabama Soil and Water Conservation Committee. In a few counties, local units of government and private industry share the costs.

Soil Survey Status Maps

More Information

Visit the MLRA Soil Survey Region #15 for more soils data (Will open in new window)
Web Soil Survey